Deputy Mayor Shirley McAlary

84 Tudor Lane
Saint John, NB
E2K 5T6
Res.: (506) 648-0487
Cell: (506) 977-3852
Deputy Mayor Shirley McAlary was first elected to Common Council in 1992 and served as Deputy Mayor for that term. In 1995, she was elected Mayor and served in this role until 2004. In 2012, she was elected as Councillor At Large and was elected as Deputy Mayor in 2016.

Before serving as Mayor for the City, Shirley worked in passenger sales at Air Canada for over twenty-five years and was licensed with New Brunswick Real Estate for approximately twelve years. She has held various volunteer roles with transportation and charitable organizations. She is a founding member of Bobby's Hospice House, first Residential Hospice House in Atlantic Canada. For the past several years and presently, Shirley is the Chair of the Board of Hospice Greater Saint John and the Hospice Legacy Foundation. She is presently a member of the Board of Directors for Fundy Funeral Home and a Past Chair of Rocmaura Nursing Home Foundation.

Shirley identifies transportation and waterfront development as her special areas of interest and providing a better quality of life for all citizens.


Mayor and Common Council Contact Information (Printable)

Mayor Don Darling
Deputy Mayor Shirley McAlary

Ward 1
Councillor Blake Armstrong
Councillor Greg J. Norton


Ward 2
Councillor Sean Casey
Councillor John MacKenzie


Ward 3
Councillor Gerry Lowe
Councillor Donna Reardon


Ward 4
Councillor David Merrithew
Councillor Ray Strowbridge


At Large
Councillor Gary Sullivan

What's my ward?
Ward 1 Map
Ward 2 Map
Ward 3 Map
Ward 4 Map
Electoral Wards Map
Electoral Wards Map

Council Meetings
City By-laws
Public Records
Agendas & Minutes - City Committees
Present to Council Form
Submission to Council Form

View latest Council Meeting on
Rogers TV