Saint John Common Council

Saint John Common Council consists of a Mayor and ten Councillors.

The 10 councillors consist of 2 representing the city at large, and 8 representing the city's 4 Wards (2 councillors per ward), all for a term of four years. The Deputy Mayor is appointed by Common Council and traditionally has been the elected member who received the highest number of votes in the municipal election. Municipal elections are held the second Monday in May and the newly-elected Common Council assumes office the fourth Monday in May.

Historical election results for the City are available through the Elections New Brunswick Office.

List of Mayors from 1785

 What you need to know

How do I make a presentation to Council?


Mayor and Council Appearances Form


Vision, Plan, Framework

Community Vision
Sustainability Plan
Accountability Framework
Performance Reporting
   Electoral Wards Map

Council Meetings
City By-laws
Public Records
Agendas & Minutes - City Committees
Present to Council Form
Submission to Council Form


Watch live on Rogers TV