As one of the oldest police departments in the country, the Saint John Police Force (SJPF) has a rich history and a well-established presence in the community. From the days of Lamplighters to the formation of the Police department in 1849, we have served and protected the community.
In the early 1900’s a standalone Police headquarters was constructed on King Street East next to the Old Provincial Jail and County Courthouse, not far from where the gallows were located. It remained there until 1971 when the headquarters were moved on a temporary basis into the then-new Saint John City Hall Bldg. Working from a commercial office site for over forty years was not the most effective or efficient way to serve the public. Multiple studies over the years described inefficiencies with the structure.
In 2010, Common Council authorized the construction of a standalone modern police headquarters at what is now known as One Peel Plaza. It is a state-of-the-art facility. Like the old headquarters on King Street East, we will be in a Plaza that houses a new Regional Holding Center and the Courts.
The Saint John Police Force – as it is known today – has undergone many changes from those first days in 1849. The Force has had 24 Chiefs of Police. It has grown from the original 25 members to today’s strength of 166 sworn members and 42 civilian members. Sworn members today are all graduates of a recognized Police Academy, many with advanced education credentials and prior careers.