Home > City Hall > Mayor & Council

Saint John Common Council

Saint John Common Council consists of a Mayor and ten Councillors.

The 10 councillors consist of 2 representing the city at large, and 8 representing the city's 4 Wards (2 councillors per ward), all for a term of four years. The Deputy Mayor is appointed by Common Council and traditionally has been the elected member who received the highest number of votes in the municipal election. Municipal elections are held the second Monday in May and the newly-elected Common Council assumes office the fourth Monday in May.

Historical election results for the City are available through the Elections New Brunswick Office.

List of Mayors from 1785