> Home > City Hall > Public Safety Services > Police > Newsroom > News Releases > Police Exemplary Service Medals/Bars to be presented

Police Exemplary Service Medals/Bars to be presented

Wed November 19, 2014

Police Exemplary Service Medals/Bars will be presented by the Lieutenant Governor of New Brunswick, the Honourable Jocelyne Roy Vienneau at a ceremony on

Thursday, November 20 – 11:00 am
Community Room, Police Headquarters 

The Police Exemplary Service Medal was created in 1982 by the Government of Canada to recognize long and outstanding service to those providing public safety service in a nigh-risk profession.  The medals are awarded to officers whose exemplary service is of such good standard as to warrant an award.

Receiving the medal for 20 years of exemplary service are:

Cst. Geoff MacDonald
Cst. Darren Milburn
Cst. Bruce Weston

A person who has been awarded the Police Exemplary Service Medal is then eligible to receive a bar in respect of each ten-year period of fulltime service.

Receiving their Service Bar for 30 years of service are:

Deputy Chief Bruce Connell
Sgt. Glenn Hayward
Retired Cst. Trevor Jones
Cst. Greg Lenihan
Sgt. Jeff LaFrance
Inspector Cy Thompson