Home > News > News Releases > Council confers Freedom of the City Honours

Council confers Freedom of the City Honours


James K. Irving, O.C., O.N.B., Arthur L. Irving, O.C., O.N.B., and
John E. Irving, C.M. were each conferred as “Freeman of the City of Saint John.”  Council passed the resolution at the December 10 2012 meeting.
The Freedom of the City is exceptional and unique, and is the highest honour the City can bestow upon citizens. In the 1800s the honour accompanied extended privileges and benefits, however these privileges disappeared in the 20th century.

The decision to confer this honour rests with the Mayor and Councillors. There are no criteria established for making the decision except the wording contained in the legislation, which states: “For Honorable Distinction, and by unanimous vote.”

Mayor Mel Norton said, “James K. Irving, Arthur L. Irving & John E. Irving are the embodiment of the entrepreneurial and philanthropic spirit of this City. On behalf of Common Council, it is with great pride that we add their names to the list of citizens who have contributed so greatly to this city.”

A private ceremony honouring the conferees will take place later this month.

i_rc_customerserv_ques Media Inquiries

Corporate Communications
City of Saint John
11th floor, City Hall
(506) 649-6008