Finalists Announced for The Originals 2012


(Saint John, NB) Launched in 2010 as part of the Saint John 225 festivities, The Originals/Les Originaux, was a sold-out, award-winning, red carpet event held in celebration and recognition of the local arts community.  Now, two years later, we invite the people of Saint John to come together once again to celebrate our finest ‘original’ talent at The Originals/ Les Originaux 2012, to be held at the Imperial Theatre on Thursday May 31st, 2012, at 7:00 pm.

As was the case for the inaugural event, the citizens of Saint John were given the opportunity to nominate artists and organizations worthy of special recognition in 12 different categories.  Saint Johners spoke up with over 225 nominations!  The nomination and finalist process was as follows:  the public was asked to make individual nominations.  Then, those nominated by the public were notified by the Saint John Cultural Affairs Office and were given the option to let their names stand and submit specific information to a jury or to decline the nomination. As with all competitions, both qualified nominees submitted and qualified nominees chose not to let their names stand.  Once all the submissions were received with the requested criteria it was then sent to a jury comprised of members from various corners of the arts community:  Bernard Cormier, Barb Crawford, Bob Doherty, Sara Griffin, Suzanne Hill, Pat Joas and Marilyn Williams. The jury has now selected the top finalists, along with the winner, in each category, which we’re now happy to announce the finalists (the winner will be announced the evening of the gala):

Emerging Artist Award: An individual artist, in any genre, who has been pursuing his/her practice for fewer than five years and is no longer a student in his/her field.
Finalists:    Babette Hayward   |   Jared Peters   |   Philip Savage

Visual Arts Award: An individual or group that has made a significant contribution to the visual arts.
Finalists:    Herzl Kashetsky   |   Carol Taylor   |   Cliff Turner

Film and New Media Arts Award: An individual or group who has made a significant contribution to film or new media arts.
Finalists:    Steven Doiron   |   Nathan Savage

Arts Supporter Award: A volunteer who has made a significant contribution to the arts community.
Finalists:    Brian Goodwin   |   Gerry Taylor

Precious Exports Award: An individual or group, and a Saint Johner at heart, who has made a significant contribution to the arts community from afar.
Finalists:    Jesse Ash   |   Stuart Howe   |   Christopher Lloyd

Popular Music Award: An individual or group that has made a significant contribution in any musical genre other than classical.
Finalists:   Penny Blacks   |   Clinton Charlton    |   Stephanie Mainville

Classical Music Award: An individual or group that has made a significant contribution in classical music.
Finalists:    Tim Blackmore   |    Wenmei Li   |   Saint John String Quartet

Performing Arts Award for Theatre: An individual or group that has made a significant contribution in theatre.
Finalists:    Scott Thomas   |    Kate Wilcott   |   Stephen Tobias

Performing Arts Award for Dance: An individual or group that has made a significant contribution in dance.
Finalists:    Connection Dance Works   |   Andrea Scott

Arts Organization Award: An organization that has made a significant contribution to the arts.
Finalists:   InterAction Children’s Theatre Company   |   Saint John Theatre Company    |   Third Space Gallery

Business (Patron) for the Arts Award: An individual or corporation, not working in the arts, who has made a significant contribution to supporting the arts.
Finalists:   Philip Huggard   |   Commercial Properties Ltd. (John Irving)

Imperial Theatre Lifetime Achievement Award: An individual who has demonstrated an extraordinary body of work over a significant period of time. 
Recipient:  Dr. Thomas J. Condon

Tickets go on sale Tuesday, April 10th, 2012 at Imperial Theatre Box Office!  For up to the minute information, including performances and after party details, be sure to like ‘The Originals | Les Originaux 2012’ on facebook and follow us on twitter @theoriginals12 .

About the logo:
The logo, featuring a drawing of Walter Golding, was created for The Originals/ Les Originaux by Saint John based artist, Amy Ash.
Golding, a true port city ‘original’, was instrumental in the creation and development of The Imperial Theatre in 1913.  As the original manager of the Imperial Theatre, he saw it through many evolutions and innovations.  Walter Golding was a tireless supporter of the arts and culture sector, and a lifelong Saint Johner.


i_rc_customerserv_ques Media Inquiries

Corporate Communications
City of Saint John
11th floor, City Hall
(506) 649-6008