Home > News > News Releases > The Saint John Sports Hall of Fame Announces 2013 Inductees

The Saint John Sports Hall of Fame Announces 2013 Inductees


On Thursday June 27, 2013 five individuals and one sport team will be inducted into the Saint John Sports Hall of Fame at an Induction Ceremony and Dinner at the Lily Lake Pavilion.

•    Gina Spear-Burrows (Athlete) – Triathlon, Running
•    Nancy Morrison
(Official) – Softball, Basketball
•    Tara MacIntyre-Olesen
(Athlete) – Volleyball
•    Glidden Titus (Athlete)
– Bodybuilding
•    Raymond Jenkins
(Athlete) – Bowling
•    Hanlon Senior Curling
(Team) – Curling
(Lead: Jane Arseneau, Second: Judy Blanchard, Mate: Kathy Floyd, Skip: Heidi Hanlon)

“Saint John is recognized as the hub for athletes, officials and builders of sport in the Greater Saint John Community,” said Fred Horgan, Sports Hall of Fame Chairperson. “Our rich sport tradition continues to influence the fabric of our community by instilling positive values of sport; values such as fairplay, respect for officials and coaches, respect for the rules, and respect for your opponent; all of which transcend to respecting one another within our community.”

The Saint John Sports Hall of Fame boasts a proud history of acknowledging and recognizing these positive values and qualities; as well as the high levels of achievement of sport participants of the community.

It was inaugurated twenty-three years ago through the initiative of the Mayor and Council of the day.  At the time the Hall of Fame ceremonies consisted of a group of athletes, city officials and volunteers, numbering less than one hundred, who gathered at UNBSJ in a small but dignified ceremony. Since then, the Hall has grown in profile with one hundred and twenty - one individuals and teams as Honoured Members. Located in the lobby area of Harbour Station, Saint John’s proud sports heritage is displayed for all to appreciate.

The Sports Hall of Fame committee consists of sport representatives who manage the selection and induction of members, and as well organizes the induction ceremony and dinner

22nd Saint John Sports Hall of Fame
Induction Ceremony & Dinner
Thursday, June 27th, 2013

Lily Lake Pavilion
Dinner: 7:00 pm
Tickets: $60.00
171 Adelaide Street
8:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

To purchase tickets contact:
Barry Freeze @ 658-4709 / email: barry.freeze@saintjohn.ca
or Kevin Watson @ 635-2017 / email: kevin.watson@saintjohn.ca

2013 Sports Hall of Fame Inductees

Gina Spear-Burrows (Athlete) – Triathlon/Running – Gina represented Saint John at the Canada Games track. She continued her competitive running in all major marathons and branched out to the ultra-challenging triathlons. Gina won an age class Ironman Canada and excelled at the Hawaii Ironman World Championships.

Nancy Morrison (Official) – Basketball/Softball – Nancy is an award winning official in several sports. Her softball career included a World Championship, Olympic Qualifier, International Tournaments and the pinnacle – umpiring the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games.

Tara MacIntyre-Olesen
(Athlete) – Volleyball – Tara was a member of the Canadian Junior & Senior National Teams. The Saint John player developed her skills while a member of the NB Canada Games team and Dalhousie University where she earned league Rookie of Year & All Canadian honours.

Glidden Titus
(Athlete) – Bodybuilding – Glidden is a ‘drug-free’ bodybuilder who won numerous provincial and Atlantic titles. His medal at the Canadian Championships fulfilled a path of hard work and dedication. He has given back to his sport as a judge for 30 years.

Raymond Jenkins (Athlete) deceased – Bowling – Raymond was a 7 time NB team champion member. The lifelong bowler scored twenty-seven ‘400’ games including 416 at the age of 66. Raymond held the top average in 3 Saint John house leagues during one memorable season.

Team Hanlon (Team) – Curling - team members Heidi Hanlon, Kathy Floyd, Judy Blanchard, and Jane Arseneau have enjoyed individual & team curling success through the years. 2012 was a magical year, as Team Hanlon won the Canadian Senior Championship to advance to the World Championships. They went undefeated 8-0 to bring home the World title from Denmark.

2013 Saint John Sports Hall of Fame Committee
Fred Horgan, Chairperson
Judy Ellis
Ian Polley
Kevin Carson
Jackie Henneberry
Monica Hitchcock
Dave Munroe
Ellen Robart
Dave McAuley
City of Saint John Staff Liaisons
Barry Freeze
Kevin Watson

More information about the Sports Hall of Fame

i_rc_customerserv_ques Media Inquiries

Corporate Communications
City of Saint John
11th floor, City Hall
(506) 649-6008